Lichtenstein had at least 8 revolving easels with adjustable height built for his continued studio use. They were fabricated following the artist's technical drawings, RLCR 1774 and RLCR 1775, showcasing his expertise in mechanical drawing earned early in his career. The easels were built at different times, as early as c. 1970 and up to 1988.
The artist's studio assistant Richard Dimmler likely built 5 easels, of which 2 are inscribed, signed and dated on the underside: "BUILT BY R. DIMMLER 7/83." Warren Padula, a Long Island artist, built 3 easels, neither signed nor dated. In a December 2012 correspondence with the authors, Dimmler recalled that the millwork was performed by Chelsea Cabinets, who cut the wood to size.
As of 2023, all easels are owned by the Estate of Roy Lichtenstein with the exception of one, which was gifted in 2006 to the Koons Collection.